Letter from Kreon to Jocasta [“Oedipus The King” by Sophocles]

[Editor’s note: This letter is constructed purely of own words, but is based on the work by Sophocles, Oedipus The King.]

Dear sister,

I understand that your situation is complex, and I’m determined to help you to my best abilities. I do not wish to test the strength of our bond through blood; nor your love for your dear husband, Oedipus, yet I ask of you to consider this as you read. His mind is not currently at its right state; his words origin from emotions and are filled with hatred and confusion. You must believe me when I say that his claims against me are false. Do not worry on my behalf; your thoughts should be for Oedipus who in all hope should come to the realization of how he has condemned himself. I do not wish to exile my brother-in-law, yet he leaves me no choice. My fear, nevertheless, lies on Oedipus’ reaction to the truth. I am certain of this as my journey to Apollo enlightened me and Teiresias‘ visit confirmed my concerns. It is as they say; your husband is the man Thebes must banish. Do not fear the consequences your husband will face, I shall see to it to spare his life is possible. The household slave that witnessed the murder is soon arriving and will bring light on this disastrous matter. Oedipus has no choice but to see the truth, he cannot argue his way out. You must talk to him, dear sister. Only your reason can make him understand that he is the man Apollo speaks about. Your disbelief in fate and prophecies are understandable, yet you must see the proof laying before you. The stories told are true, even Oedipus himself starts to see their connection.

Sincerely,

Your brother,

Kreon.


Source: http://www.mshogue.com/AP/oedipus.htm

2 Comments

  1. You must have read the play. Is it in verse? In German a great poet, Hölderlin, made a verse translation. I mean, v erse came naturally to him.
    Most verse translations sound awful, for instance Shakespeare in German.

    Reply

    1. Yes, I just read it. I’ve heard about it for such a long time, and now I’m glad I can say I’ve actually read the play. The translated version is also in verse, translated by actual poets, Stephen Berg and Diskin Clay. Of course, this cannot compare to the original, but unfortiunatly, I don’t know Greek.

      Shakespear in German, that must be interesting?

      Reply

Leave a thought

