Child in a Tree

Laughter in my ear. A smile stuck on my mouth. A few feet away a child is climbing in a tree, smiling. He laughs, with no worries. Not knowing what fate has chosen for him.
The child’s mom us underneath and watches carefully. Happily she looks up and listens. “I can see the whole world from here! Come!”

Her eyes turn up and over my head. My body turns and I look.
The threes, big and green. Children with terrified moms.  Of course, they don’t want anything to happen. But I am not scared. My child has control. I know it! Thousands of times she has climbed in this tree. It’s something special about it. Or, she thinks so. And as long she likes it, it’s hers. Always this one. With the first flowers of the spring. This one, with arms so protecting and careful. I trust this tree, because I know it won’t hurt her. In any way.

 

Scream

           Heartbeats

                      Running feet

 

Sorrow, pain and sadness rule our hearts.  A few seconds before and I could have saved her! Only a few…
I turn her body so I can see her face. The glass eyes get stuck on my mind and I curse it. Blame me, do it and be done! Yes, I should have watched over her better, but what else can I do? Sorrow is too painful and forgetting is cruel!
But I know something she would love; a funeral with everybody. With everyone she knew, that would be great. With red roses, her favorite teddy buried with her, together. She always wanted her teddy around her. Everywhere she went, he was with her. Even into death he followed her.

He was with her all her life, whole 9 short years.

Leave a thought

